top of page

Almost Famous... 5 minutes of Fame on National TV Money Week 财经追击

It was on 7-June-2017, while I was lazing on my sofa at around 6ish pm in the evening catching up with the news when I received a call. A lady on the other line spoke to me in Mandarin and thinking it was a scam call, I almost hung up on her. But as she spoke on, I heard the word "财经追击", "producer" and when the conversation went on, I found out her name was Ms Paw and she was the producer of our local channel Mandarin channel show called Money Week. She chanced across me and wanted to do an interview on the matter on crowd funding. However, it being a Mandarin channel, the interview has to be conducted in Mandarin.

I squirm at the thought of being interview on National TV in Mandarin as I don't really use much of Mandarin in my daily conversing and moreover being away in the United States for more than 10 years of the earlier part of my life didn't help either. After about 15 minutes of conversing with her, I decided to take on the interview but did ask her to prep me with some typical questions that she might asked... then, "Game On"...

Ms Paw arrived on Friday bright and early at about 9:00am at my place. The interview was done at my place as I have given up on my workshop more than a year ago (read "Bye Bye Workshop).

Though it was a 5 minutes or so segment on National TV, Ms Paw was so gracious to do several reshoot as my Mandarin was so "rusty" and needed some prompting and guidance from her to get it right. By the time we were done, it was well past noon.

By the end of the shoot, I was mentally drained and all I wanted to do was to rest and sleep through the rest of the day. However on the later part of the day, I was asked by a friend to go have a beer at a fellow classmate's newly opened pub... "Game On"...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page