top of page

Indiegogo lost... Plenty else to Gain

With the crowd-funding campaign coming to a close, I can't help but feel a bit disappointed at the "result" of the campaign. However, on hind sight, I am kind of glad that it did not take off as what I intent.

Okay, what exactly am I saying here:

When I launched the campaign, I had plenty of apprehension on the fulfillments of the order. Shipping from Singapore to North America itself cost just over SG$100 and I do not have packaging for all my consoles. Logistically speaking, it would have been an nightmare just on shipping itself.

My feeling on the low-takers is because lack of exposure (as I was busy with the Gamestart 2016 event) that was happening at the start of the Indiegogo campaign. Also, the exorbitant shipping cost, which I charged separately from the console, adds up close to almost US$480 which is really way up there and definitely a big deterrence for interested parties... I too would question myself on a purchase of a mini retro-gaming machine for US$480.

Well, not all are lost... from the 3 days Gamestart Asia 2016 event, I manage to sell 30 over Pixel Play consoles. On top of that, there were leads and interviews setup with various big Media and Gaming companies.

My original intention of crowd-funding was to raised money to purchase machines to develop my 2-player console. Even though Indiegogo was "not successful" to meet my goal, I did get above and beyond what I wanted through the convention. I never get tired of the saying from Forrest Gump: “My mom always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you're gonna get.”

UPDATED (June 14, 2017):

Though it's been almost 1 year since the convention and the Indiegogo launch, the publicity got me an interview with our National TV channel 8 on the program Money Week (财经追击). The interview was aired on 14 June, 2017, Episode 11.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page