top of page

Virtual GamePad with Yappy

I have decided to take the whole of May to update all the softwares for the Yappy Console and also evaluate some new new builds to see if it is viable.

For the software, I have done the following:

  • Updating RetroPie to version 3.7 (I have provided a link to the change log for version 3.7) and EmulationStation 2.0

  • Added Virtual GamePad to my Yappy console

  • Some minor tweaks and bug fixes

Over the past few months on selling the console, I have been asked when am I ever going to finish my 2-player version and it's been always the same reply... "it is in the works" but the honest truth is that I'm still far from finishing it. The current 2-player console is flimsy and just not up to par so at this point, I am likely to hold out on the build.

The next best thing I can come up with is to have a 2-player functionality for my existing Yappy Console. In order to do that, all on-going sales of the Yappy Console will include a network dongle and once it is "hook" up to a network, it allows multiple player to play off their mobile handset (Android or iOS handset). Do note that some configuration are required to correctly map the right buttons for every handset connected to the device before you can have multiple players.

Details on how this is setup can be found at

Video of the setup and what it can do can be found at

The above instructions are not created by me and due credit are to be given to the originator of the above links.

Having "sideline" the 2-player console, other builds that I'm currently working on are

  • the "piboy" version (aka gameboy on steroids)

  • a stand-alone version that hooks up to the tv with 2 mini gamepad

Details of the build will be posted on up coming blog.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • YouTube Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page